Fun Facts With Tyler Eifert

One of the staples of the pregame show on the Bengals Radio Network is the “Fantastic Fun Facts” interview where I ask the players a series of offbeat questions on a wide variety of subjects.  Although our first broadcast for this season is still more than two months away, I thought it would be fun to get a few interesting nuggets from first round draft pick Tyler Eifert.

Tyler Eifert

Here’s our recent Q & A (Eifert’s answers are in bold):

Aside from football, what do you do well?

Golf.  I’m about a 2 or 3 handicap.  I like to play a lot.

That’s pretty impressive.  Do you bomb it off the tee?

I do – about 340 yards on average.

Seriously?

For real.

Aside from professional athlete, have you had any other jobs?

Nope.  I took the trash out and did some chores around the house, but that was about it.  I played sports year-round.

Who was your favorite athlete as a kid and why?

It was Michael Jordan because he was just the best and dominated.

What do you spend your money on as a guilty pleasure?

I really don’t spend money on a whole lot. 

Electronics, clothes, movies, anything?

I don’t like to go to the movies – I’d rather wait for them to come out (on TV or DVD).  With clothes, at Notre Dame I would just wear issued gear because that’s what they gave us.  I like cars.  It would be fun to spend money on cars someday.

Do you have a dream car?

Mercedes (440x274)

For something somewhat reasonable, I guess it would be the S65 AMG Mercedes.  I think that would be pretty sweet. 

So you go for classy instead of something fast and sexy?

Right.  It’s classy but it still has some juice.

You’re from Ft. Wayne, IN.  What would you say your hometown is best-known for?

I guess cornfields, playing basketball, shooting hoops at a barn.

What was the name of your high school including team nickname?

Bishop Dwenger and our nickname was the Saints.

Any famous grads?

Jason Fabini who played in the NFL as an offensive lineman for a long time.

Jason Fabini (436x440)

And at the University of Cincinnati.

That’s right.

What was your favorite thing about Notre Dame?

Probably just the guys in the locker room.  Everything we got to go through as a team and getting to be a part of that.

When Brian Kelly wanted to motivate you, what buttons did he push?

He would just coach me and tell me what I needed to do.  He wasn’t big on yelling at me or things like that – not that he wouldn’t.  All you have to do is tell me what to do and I’ll try to do it.

What gifts did the Notre Dame players get for playing in the BCS Championship game?

We got a gift card from the university with some money on it and then we got to go to a gift suite.  But they didn’t send us the gifts that we picked out which was a little surprising.  They sent us like a cheaper version of them.  I wonder if the winners got them?  I guess that’s what you get when you lose.  It’s all good though.  I’ll take what they gave me.

This might be tough since you’re a rookie, but do have any idea what you would like to do after football?

I’m not sure, but I think it would be fun to coach high school or grade school.  I’d also like to work on my golf game when this is all said and done.

You’re a 2-handicap.  It’s doesn’t sound like there’s much work needed.

Oh there is.  You can always get better.

I’d love to hear from you at Dan.Hoard@Bengals.nfl.net

If you Twitter, you can follow my tweets at http://twitter.com/Dan_Hoard

And I’m on Facebook at www.facebook.com/dan.hoard.1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

