AJ Green Says No Structural Damage To Knee

If you nearly had a panic attack when you heard that A.J. Green went down with a left knee injury at the Bengals first training camp practice on Thursday, you’ re not alone.

“It was scary for me,” Green said on Friday morning.  “But I felt (my knee) and everything felt intact.  I got up and walked off so it’s fine.”

AJ injury (440x330)

The two-time Pro Bowl receiver said that an MRI showed no structural damage and compared the injury to a hypertension of the right knee that he suffered against Pittsburgh as a rookie in 2011.

“That’s what it is,” said Green.  “It’s just not as bad as the one in Pittsburgh.

“It’s like a little bone bruise.”

Green injured his left knee about 90 minutes into practice on Thursday when he attempted to make an acrobatic catch on a deep ball thrown down the sideline by Andy Dalton.

“I was awkward so I was trying to keep my feet in and then I got off-balance,” said Green.  “I don’t know if something was under my foot like a rock or something, but it just went back and I slipped.”

Although it was the first day of training camp, Green has no regrets about making an all-out attempt to make the catch.

“That’s how I’m programmed man,” said Green.  “That’s all I know.”

Green, who turns 25 next week, said that there is no timetable for his return to practice.

“I don’t know – whenever they say I’m ready,” A.J. told reporters.

Bengals fans would undoubtedly be happy if Green is back in time for the regular season opener, but A.J. wants to be back on the field as soon as possible.

“You know me, I need my reps,” said Green.  “I love to get all of my reps, but we’ll see what happens.”

I’d love to hear from you at Dan.Hoard@Bengals.nfl.net

If you Twitter, you can follow my tweets at http://twitter.com/Dan_Hoard

And I’m on Facebook at www.facebook.com/dan.hoard.1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

