The End of a Memorable Decade For The PawSox

I love the Top 10 lists that come out at the end of every decade.


This website even has a list of the Top 10 Top 10 lists for 2000 to 2009.


I didn’t start working for the PawSox until 2006, but I still thought I’d take a shot at the “Top 10 Pawtucket Red Sox Moments” of the decade.


Here goes:


10.  The PawSox advance to the Governor’s Cup finals in 2003.  It was Pawtucket’s first playoff appearance in 6 years, and the PawSox beat Ottawa in the opening round to end a streak of seven straight losses in playoff series dating back to 1986.  Unfortunately, Pawtucket was swept in the finals by Durham.


9.  Earl Snyder ties the PawSox single-season home run record by bashing 36 in 2004.


8.  In his one season with Pawtucket, Jacoby Ellsbury shatters the franchise record for longest hitting streak by hitting safely in 25 straight games in 2007.  The previous record of 19 straight games was shared by Dave Berg and Dave Stapleton.


7.  Big Papi takes over McCoy Stadium in 2008.  David Ortiz spends three days with Pawtucket on rehab and homers in all three games, drawing at least 10,675 fans for each game.


6.  Bronson Arroyo (2003) and Tomo Ohka (2000) toss 9-inning perfect games at McCoy Stadium.


5.  PawSox play their first game at Fenway Park.  With a sellout crowd of 33,394 in attendance, Pawtucket beats Rochester 5-4 in the inaugural “Futures at Fenway” doubleheader in 2006.  Carlos Pena’s 2-run HR in the bottom of the 8th inning drives home the winning run.


4.  Dustin Pedroia named Rookie of the Year (2007) and American League MVP (2008) after earning International League All-Star honors with the PawSox in 2006.


3.  Pawtucket wins a franchise-record 85 games in 2008, before losing in the playoffs to eventual league champion Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.


2.  Ben Mondor, Joe Morgan, and Jim Rice are inducted into the International League’s Hall of Fame in 2008.


1.  Thanks in part to the tireless lobbying efforts of Ben Mondor and the PawSox, Jim Rice joins Wade Boggs, Dennis Eckersley, and Carlton Fisk on the list of former Pawtucket players to be inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown in 2009.


Did I miss anything? 


I’d love to hear from you.  The address is


And if you Twitter, you can follow my tweets at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s