I Want Names

You probably saw the news on Wednesday that Andre Dawson was the only player who received enough votes to earn induction into the Hall of Fame this year.


But did you go through the balloting with a fine-tooth comb?


I’d like to know what writers voted for Eric Karros, Kevin Appier, and David Segui.


Karros was the National League Rookie of the Year in 1992 and had five outstanding seasons for the Dodgers.  But he was a .268 career hitter (.325 OBP) and his 284 home runs ranks 144th in baseball history.


That doesn’t exactly scream Cooperstown.


Appier was a one-time All-Star who finished his career with 169 wins – good for 181st in MLB  history.


Perhaps the dude that voted for him figured that he had four more wins than Sandy Koufax so he had to be a Hall of Famer (ignoring the fact that Koufax retired at the age of 30 after winning 27 games in 1966 due to constant pain in his left arm).


Then you have David Segui.  His career average (.291) and OBP (.359) were respectable, but he was never an All-Star, never led his league in a statistical category, and never made a playoff appearance in his 15 big league seasons.  Furthermore, after being named in the Mitchell Report, he admitted using steroids while playing for the New York Mets.


I guess the person who voted for him is all for a “steroid wing” in the Hall of Fame.


I know a couple of people who didn’t vote for Karros, Appier, or Segui:  Jay Mariotti and Lisa Olson.


They reportedly turned in blank ballots.


Mariotti, who frequently appears on the unwatchable ESPN show “Around the Horn,” explained his rational on Tuesday’s show.


“I didn’t vote for anybody in the baseball Hall of Fame this year,” Mariotti said.  “Ya know why?  To me, the first ballot is sacred.  I think Roberto Alomar is an eventual Hall of Famer, not the first time.  Edgar Martinez, designated hitter, eventually, but not the first time.  Same goes for maybe Fred McGriff.  As far as Blyleven and Dawson, if they haven’t gotten in for years and years I cannot vote them in now.  Ripken, Rickey Henderson and Gwynn. They are true first ballot Hall of Famers, but I didn’t vote for anybody, throw me out of the Baseball Writers.  I don’t care.”


Five voters reportedly turned in blank ballots.  Remove them from the 539 ballots cast, and 287-game winner Bert Blyleven would have had the necessary 75% for induction.


Voting for the Hall of Fame is a privilege and should be taken seriously.


Get me the names of the clowns who voted for Karros, Appier, and Segui.


And while you’re at it, find out who voted for Rick Dempsey – a career .233 hitter – in 1998.


I’d love to hear from you.  The address is dhoard@pawsox.com.


And if you Twitter, you can follow my tweets at http://twitter.com/Dan_Hoard


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s