Scouts Looking For Moore

On a Cincinnati team with six senior wide receivers last year, it wasn’t easy for any individual to post big numbers.

Chris Moore 1-handed TD

But NFL scouts had no trouble spotting Chris Moore who was one of only 11 receivers invited to the prestigious Senior Bowl in January. That bowl’s executive director Phil Savage recently listed Moore among the top “under the radar” prospects in this year’s draft.

“I proved to myself that I could play and compete with the best,” said Moore. “At the Senior Bowl there were a number of great athletes and that’s one thing that I wanted to do – truly prove that I could play with all of them. I feel like I came away with that.”

Moore’s athletic ability was on display again at the Sheakley Athletics Center Bubble on Monday as he was among 20 Bearcats to work out for NFL scouts and coaches at UC’s Pro Timing Day.

“It’s exciting,” Chris told me. “It’s a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and I’m just taking it all in, enjoying it, and trying to remember as much as I can. It’s incredible.”

Moore at combine (440x440)

Moore also participated in the NFL Scouting Combine last month in Indianapolis. While his 4.53 time in 40-yard dash was slower than he’s run in the past, the Tampa, FL native elected not to try for a faster time on Monday.

“I talked to all of the scouts and they said it was a good time and they were pleased with it,” said Moore. “They said that on film I show speed, so they weren’t pressing me to run the 40 again.”

If anybody doubts Moore’s speed, all they have to do is pop in the video of Cincinnati’s game against the eventual national champion Ohio State in 2014. Chris hauled in touchdown catches of 60, 78, and 83 yards against the Buckeyes (and had a 50 yard TD grab negated by a penalty). Additionally, he ranked fourth in the country last season in yards per reception at 21.8.

“One of the questions that a lot of scouts have asked me was, ‘Can you only run a deep ball?’” said Moore. “I got the chance to interview with a lot of scouts and talk to a few teams and general managers and tell them, ‘Yes, I can do it all.’ That’s what the film shows and I just had to tell them that at this school, nobody practices running routes more than us. We did that non-stop at every practice and a lot of teams don’t do that. I feel like the receivers here are more prepared than any receivers in the country.”

Moore at pro day (440x306)

At UC’s Pro Timing Day, the wide receiver drills were conducted by Bengals offensive coordinator Ken Zampese and wide receivers coach James Urban. With the recent free agent departures of Marvin Jones and Mohamed Sanu, the Bengals appear likely to target wide receivers in this year’s draft and are undoubtedly studying Cincinnati’s six seniors: Alex Chisum, Johnny Holton, Mekale McKay, Moore, Max Morrison, and Shaq Washington.

“We all have a feeling that at least one of us is going to wind up there,” said Moore. “If it was me, it would be amazing because I’ve grown to love this city. My girlfriend is from here and I feel like I have some ties here now. It would be awesome to stay here and play in Paul Brown Stadium again and have a whole new fan base to show my talents in front of.”

I’d love to hear from you at Dan.Hoard@Bengals.nfl.net

If you’re on Twitter, you can follow my tweets at http://twitter.com/Dan_Hoard

And I’m on Facebook at www.facebook.com/dan.hoard.1

Leave a Reply

